

New host, familiar guests: 23 teams at the start of the ADAC Cyclassics

On August 17, the ADAC Cyclassics will experience a special edition: with Buxtehude as the new starting location and a revised route in and around Hamburg, the historic race is set for exciting new features. A total of 23 teams, each with seven riders, have confirmed their participation.

All 18 teams from the UCI WorldTour as well as five teams from the UCI ProSeries will be participating. In addition to Israel – Premier Tech and Lotto, who will take advantage of their automatic starting rights, Uno-X Mobility and the two Swiss teams Q36.5 Pro Cycling Team and Tudor Pro Cycling Team have also been invited. As a result, the field remains unchanged compared to last year – but the route is presented in a completely new guise.

Ten years after the first start outside Hamburg, the race begins again beyond the Elbe metropolis: Buxtehude hosts the peloton and sends it on a 207-kilometer course – the longest Cyclassics edition in the past five years. The first 30 kilometers lead through the districts of Stade and Harburg before the peloton reaches Hamburg city area. From there, it's full speed ahead:

With the return of the Köhlbrand Bridge, an icon of the Cyclassics makes its comeback. A novelty is that the Waseberg will be climbed already in the first half of the race – a total of five crossings are scheduled. The finale promises high tension, as the winner will be crowned as usual on Mönckebergstraße.

Since its founding, the ADAC Cyclassics has belonged to the highest category of international cycling, the UCI WorldTour. Last year, Olav Kooij triumphed in the Sprint Royale on Mönckebergstraße, leaving behind Giro and Tour de France sprint stars Jonathan Milan and Biniam Girmay.